Madam by Phoebe Wynne

17.95

“Sometimes, what we really need is a spooky mix of Daphne Du Maurier and Donna Tartt with a touch of Margaret Attwood and ‘Madam’ ticks all the boxes! A young inspirational Classics teacher, a strange isolated boarding school in Scotland, and a dark secret that has to be uncovered… A twisted romp of a novel with a cataclysmic conclusion.” Bob.

ISBN 9781529408737

SKU: 9781529408737 Categories: , ,

Description

“Sometimes, what we really need is a spooky mix of Daphne Du Maurier and Donna Tartt with a touch of Margaret Attwood and ‘Madam’ ticks all the boxes! A young inspirational Classics teacher, a strange isolated boarding school in Scotland, and a dark secret that has to be uncovered… A twisted romp of a novel with a cataclysmic conclusion.” Bob.

Light a fire they can’t put out… For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope. A boarding school for girls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge ‘resilient and ready to serve society’. Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude.

When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor – a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss – she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe. As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety…

A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeleine Miller and Margaret Atwood.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
Go to Top