Home/Kids and Teens (All), Older Kids/A Girl Called Joy by Jenny Valentine

A Girl Called Joy by Jenny Valentine

8.85

From award-winning author Jenny Valentine, and The Sunday Times Children’s Book of the Week, this is the perfect series for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson.

Meet ten-year-old Joy Applebloom, a girl with a knack for finding the silver lining in even the darkest of rainclouds. After years of travelling the world with her parents and older sister, Claude (Claude rhymes with bored, which is just about right), Joy and her family move to suburbia – back to school, back to her grumpy, rule-obsessed grandad and back to normality. Joy soon finds her usual irrepressible positivity and zest for life waning, but when the powers that be threaten to pull down a mighty oak tree, Joy decides to fight back, and realizes that not all magic requires wands and spells, and perhaps the most important sort of magic is the power, resilience and courage that was there all along…

Great for Ages 9-12.

ISBN 9781471196492

SKU: 9781471196492 Categories: ,

Description

From award-winning author Jenny Valentine, and The Sunday Times Children’s Book of the Week, this is the perfect series for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson.

Meet ten-year-old Joy Applebloom, a girl with a knack for finding the silver lining in even the darkest of rainclouds. After years of travelling the world with her parents and older sister, Claude (Claude rhymes with bored, which is just about right), Joy and her family move to suburbia – back to school, back to her grumpy, rule-obsessed grandad and back to normality. Joy soon finds her usual irrepressible positivity and zest for life waning, but when the powers that be threaten to pull down a mighty oak tree, Joy decides to fight back, and realizes that not all magic requires wands and spells, and perhaps the most important sort of magic is the power, resilience and courage that was there all along…

Great for Ages 9-12.

Additional information

Weight 0.3 kg
Go to Top