Our booksellers have picked out their favourite Irish books and Irish writing, so do have a browse of our Irish picks here and discover some new books from “the land of saints and scholars”… And remember – we offer Free Postage in ROI on orders over €30 – just choose the Free Postage option at checkout.

  • From the master of the absurd, these two stories of an unnamed vagrant contending with decay and death combine bleakness with the blackest of humour. ISBN 9780241338971
  • ... a most delicious, nourishing, and wholesome food...' Swift's devastating short satire on how to solve a famine. Jonathan Swift (1667-1745). Swift's works available in Penguin Classics are Gulliver's Travels and A Modest Proposal and Other Writings ISBN 9780141398181
  • 'Dante and the Lobster' is the first of the linked short stories in Samuel Beckett's first book, More Pricks Than Kicks. Published in 1934, its style was recognizably indebted to that of his mentor, James Joyce, and crammed with linguistic texture and allusion that Beckett later shed. The book baffled many critics and sold so few copies that several batches were pulped. Decades later, this story was hailed as the Nobel Prize-winner's earliest important work. ISBN 9780571351800
  • A brand new colouring book for fans of Where Are You, Puffling? Gorgeous black and white illustrations from the original picture book for children to colour in. A perfect gift! Great for Ages 0-6. ISBN 9781788492348
  • Faber Stories, a landmark series of individual volumes, presents masters of the short story form at work in a range of genres and styles. The evening is fine. In the sky a few early stars are shining of their own accord. She watches the dog licking the bowl clean. This dog will break her daughter's heart, she's sure of it. Claire Keegan's mesmeric story takes us into the heart of the Wicklow countryside, and of the farming family of Victor Deegan, with his 'three teenagers, the milking and the mortgage'. When Deegan finds a gun dog and gives it as a present to his only daughter, his wife is filled with foreboding at this seeming act of kindness. As the seasons pass, long-buried family secrets threaten to emerge. Bringing together past, present and future in our ninetieth year, Faber Stories is a celebratory compendium of collectable work. ISBN 9780571351855
  • Shipwrecked on an unknown island, Lemuel Gulliver wakes to find himself surrounded by its six-inch natives, the Lilliputians. But this is only the first in a long line of wonderful discoveries, as his adventures take him to other far-off lands such as Brobdingnag, populated by a race of giants, Luggnagg, home to the eternally ageing Struldbrugs, and the country of the Houyhnhnms, inhabited by benevolent talking horses. Parodying the immensely popular travel novels of its time, "Gulliver's Travels" is not only a tour de force in imaginative and comical writing, which has thrilled readers of all ages for almost three centuries, but also a masterly, merciless satire on western society and human nature. ISBN 9781847490889
  • High kings, forbidden romance and ancient magic all feature in these rich and colourful myths. Packed with 28 classic tales drawn from Ireland's ancient tradition of storytelling, these legends will delight children of all ages - as they have for generations. In this book you will find tales of beautiful princesses and handsome princes, brave kings, beautiful queens, wicked stepmothers, greedy landlords, wily druids, practical saints, magic spears, singing harps, slithering snakes, fierce dragons, cruel enchantments, courageous deeds, mischievous fairies and clever leprechauns. Ireland's rich and colourful history is reflected in these myths and legends which have been handed down from generation to generation. This popular pocket format will appeal to visitors to Ireland. And for children in Ireland with names such as Deirdre, Aoife, Conor, Grainne, Diarmuid, Brian, Maeve, Fionn and Oisin, the question 'Where does my name come from?' is easily answered with a story. Here are stories to be enjoyed by children and adults alike - just like they have been for hundreds of years. Great for Ages 3-99. ISBN 9780717158997
  • The Irish famously have a way with words and this beautifully illustrated selection includes the best of Irish wit and wisdom to amuse and entertain on any occasion. Enjoy the stunning wit of some of Ireland's finest writers, as well as words of unparalleled wisdom that are woven into the fabric of the language of this island. ISBN 9780717169214
  • A masterpiece of the horror genre, Dracula also probes identity, sanity and the dark corners of Victorian sexuality and desire. It begins when Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula purchase a London house, and makes horrifying discoveries in his client's castle. Soon afterwards, disturbing incidents unfold in England - an unmanned ship is wrecked; strange puncture marks appear on a young woman's neck; a lunatic asylum inmate raves about the imminent arrival of his 'Master' - and a determined group of adversaries prepare to battle the Count. 'The very best story of diablerie which I have read for many years' Arthur Conan Doyle ISBN 9780141439846
  • Oscar Wilde's alluring novel of decadence and sin was a succes de scandale on publication. It follows Dorian Gray who, enthralled by his own exquisite portrait, exchanges his soul for eternal youth and beauty. Influenced by his friend Lord Henry Wotton, he is drawn into a corrupt double life, indulging his desires in secret while remaining a gentleman in the eyes of polite society. Only his portrait bears the traces of his depravity. ISBN 9780141439570
  • 'Life imitates Art far more than Art imitates Life.' The two works brought together here, 'The Decay of Lying' and 'The Critic as Artist', are Oscar Wilde's wittiest and most profound writings on aesthetics, in which he proposes that criticism is the highest form of creation and that lying, the telling of a beautiful untruth, is the ultimate aim of art. ISBN 9780241472453
  • Dorian Gray is having his picture painted by Basil Hallward, who is charmed by his looks. But when Sir Henry Wotton visits and seduces Dorian into the worship of youthful beauty with an intoxicating speech, Dorian makes a wish he will live to regret: that all the marks of age will now be reflected in the portrait rather than on Dorian's own face. The stage is now set for a masterful tale about appearance, reality, art, life, truth, fiction and the burden of conscience. Oscar Wilde's only full-length novel, The Picture of Dorian Gray is a lasting gem of sophisticated wit and playfulness, which brings together all the best elements of his talent in a reinterpretation of the Faustian myth. ISBN 9781847493729
  • 50% OFF SALE - WAS €16.80, NOW €8.40. SIGNED 1ST EDITION HARDBACK A New Signed 1st Edition 1st Printing Hardback with 1 included on the title page number line - signed by the author on publication in March 2020. A cracker' Patrick McCabe - 'An irresistible comedy' Luke Kennard Laura Cassidy is going all the way. Hollywood. Starry lights. The Walk of Fame. It's her destiny. At least, that's what her movie-obsessed father used to tell her. That was always the plan. Sure, it's been a bit slow-going, but the stars have finally aligned. The long-awaited new theatre is about to open, and their first production calls for a particularly fiery female lead. This part has Laura's name on it. There's her meddlesome older sister to get past - freshly returned from saving the world. Her occasional lover and stand-in leading man seems to think it's all a waste of time. And probably best not to mention the audition to her mother, especially after what happened last time . . . Laura just has to stay one step ahead of them all. Channelling the era of Hollywood's silver screen and told in a voice that blends devil humour, quiet mayhem, and a singled-minded optimism that might just lead to disaster, Laura Cassidy's Walk of Fame tells the story of a troubled soul desperate to find her place in life. ISBN 9781509829880
  • 50% OFF SALE TITLE – WAS €16.95, NOW €8.45. Being Tommy's mother is too much for Sonya. Too much love, too much fear, too much longing for the cool wine she gulps from the bottle each night. Because Sonya is burning the fish fingers, and driving too fast, and swimming too far from the shore, and Tommy's life is in her hands. Once there was the thrill of a London stage, a glowing acting career, fast cars, handsome men. But now there are blackouts and bare cupboards, and her estranged father showing up uninvited. There is Mrs O'Malley spying from across the road. There is the risk of losing Tommy - forever. 'I lived every scene as I read' Donal Ryan. ISBN 9781526624475
  • WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY IRVINE WELSH Dorian is a good-natured young man until he discovers the power of his own exceptional beauty. As he gradually sinks deep into a frivolous, glamorous world of selfish luxury, he apparently remains physically unchanged by the stresses of his corrupt lifestyle and untouched by age. But up in his attic, hidden behind a curtain, his portrait tells a different story... ISBN 9780099511144
  • Today is a very special day. It is the President's birthday and everyone is preparing a birthday surprise for him. So while the President is sent out to the Phoenix Park to walk the dogs, preparations get underway. The pigeon helpfully puts up the bunting, the postmistress delivers the birthday cards, Mrs Mullins dusts down the pictures and the cheeky cat tastes the freshly whipped cream! Meanwhile, the President enjoys tea and scones at Farmleigh House and even does a spot of yoga on the fifteen acres. But will our forgetful President enjoy his day out in the park too much to remember his own birthday party? Or will it be his turn to surprise everyone instead? ISBN 9780717188727 Great for Ages 0-6
  • He is Ireland's most famous warrior, a legendary figure who has enchanted children for millennia. But who really was Fionn Mac Cumhaill? And what was he like when he was a child?In this wonderful, modern retelling of an ancient tale, based on a 12th-century manuscript, Ronan Moore brings young Fionn to life in a series of wild adventures. A cheeky kid, constantly trying to outsmart the adults around him, Fionn is on the run from his father's enemies who want him dead. Travel with him as he journeys throughout Ireland, evading capture, outwitting enemies, and training to become the greatest leader Ireland has ever known. Including the well-known myths of the Salmon of Knowledge and the Dragon of Tara, this book will appeal to all children as they follow Fionn's life up to the point of his becoming leader of the Fianna. Great for Ages 7-12 / ISBN 9780717185863
  • An enthralling novel of two intertwining stories based on real events in 19th century Ireland and the Canadian Arctic. Two ships Arctic-bound, HMS Erebus and Terror, leave London in 1845, captained by the aging Sir John Franklin. How long they'll be gone depends on the ice. Meanwhile, second-in-command, Francis Crozier, worries about their inexperienced crew. In Derry, little Weesy Coppin dies of a fever but, as far as her sister Ann and brother William are concerned, her spirit returns to haunt them. While an anxious world waits for news of the Artic explorers, the Coppin family try to understand what is going in their home. But, then, one night, all is revealed when the truth literally steps out of the shadows. ISBN 9781788490177 Great for Ages 9-12

Title

Go to Top