Gutter Bookshop Bookclub Dates

We currently run 7 bookclubs each month across our two Gutter Bookshops!

In Cow’s Lane, the Classics Bookclub runs on the 2nd Thursday of each month 6-7pm, the Third Thursday Bookclub runs on the 3rd Thursday of each month (surprisingly!) 6-7pm, the Gutter Bookshop Bookclub runs on the 4th Thursday of each month 6-7pm. Our ‘Get Active’ Bookclub for the Retired Over-55s is run in conjunction with Temple Bar Cultural Trust and takes place 11am-Noon on the 4th Thursday of each month.

Our Dalkey bookshop runs 3 of its own bookclubs under the guidance of Marta and Rebekah. The Dalkey Wednesday Bookclub runs on the first Wednesday of the month, the Dalkey Thursday Bookclub runs on the second Thursday of the month, and the Dalkey Tuesday Bookclub runs on the third Tuesday of the month. All Dalkey bookclubs run 6-7pm.

Available places for all of our bookclubs are advertised first via our monthly newsletter. If you are interested in joining a bookclub, do sign-up to the Newsletter but clicking on the link above.

  • UPDATE ON SUNDAY 15TH MARCH 2020 – We regret that we will be cancelling our remaining March 2020 Bookclubs due to the Coronavirus / Covid-19 outbreak. We hope to re-open our bookshops on 31st March 2020 and will update here as necessary. Books can be purchased online here via our ‘Book Search’ service & either posted out or securely collected using the Click & Collect option. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible – happy reading & take care! Bob, Marta & Rebekah.

2020 Bookclub Dates and Books

Thu 9th January 6pm – Dalkey Second Thursday – ‘Travelling in a Strange Land’ by David Park
Thu 9th January 6pm – Cow’s Lane Classics – ‘Great Expectations’ by Charles Dickens
Thu 16th January 6pm – Cow’s Lane Third Thursday – ‘The Dutch House’ by Ann Patchett
Tue 21st January 6pm – Dalkey Third Tuesday – ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ by Delia Owens
Thu 23rd January 11am – Cow’s Lane Get Active – ‘Olive, Again’ by Elizabeth Strout
Thu 23rd January 6pm – Cow’s Lane General – ‘Olive, Again’ by Elizabeth Strout

Wed 5th February 6pm – Dalkey First Wednesday – ‘The Second Sleep’ by Robert Harris
Thu 13th February 6pm – Dalkey Second Thursday – ‘My Sister, the Serial Killer’ by Oyinkan Braithwaite
Thu 13th February 6pm – Cow’s Lane Classics – ‘The Master and Margarita’ by Mikhail Bulgakov
Tue 18th February 6pm – Dalkey Third Tuesday – ‘Shadowplay’ by Joseph O’Connor
Thu 20th February 6pm – Cow’s Lane Third Thursday – ‘Olive, Again’ by Elizabeth Strout
Thu 27th February 11am – Cow’s Lane Get Active – ‘Akin’ by Emma Donoghue
Thu 27th February 6pm – Cow’s Lane General – ‘A Single Thread’ by Tracy Chevalier

Wed 4th March 6pm – Dalkey First Wednesday – ‘Such a Fun Age’ by Kiley Reid
Thu 12th March 6pm – Dalkey Second Thursday – ‘The Inugami Curse’ by Seishi Yokomizo
Thu 12th March 6pm – Cow’s Lane Classics – ‘The Age of Innocence’ by Edith Wharton
Thu 19th March 6pm – Cow’s Lane Third Thursday – ‘Girl, Woman, Other’ by Bernardine Evaristo *CANCELLED*
Tue 24th March 6pm – Dalkey Third Tuesday – ‘Apeirogon’ by Colum McCann *CANCELLED*
Thu 26th March 11am – Cow’s Lane Get Active – ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ by Delia Owens *CANCELLED*
Thu 26th March 6pm – Cow’s Lane General – ‘My Sister, the Serial Killer’ by Oyinkan Braithwaite *CANCELLED*

Wed 1st April 6pm – Dalkey First Wednesday – ‘Beekeeper of Aleppo’ by Christy Lefteri
Thu 9th April 6pm – Dalkey Second Thursday – tbc
Thu 9th April 6pm – Cow’s Lane Classics – ‘The Mayor of Casterbridge’ by Thomas Hardy
Thu 16th April 6pm – Cow’s Lane Third Thursday – ‘The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep’ by H. G. Parry
Tue 21st April 6pm – Dalkey Third Tuesday – tbc
Thu 23rd April 11am – Cow’s Lane Get Active – ‘A Long Petal of the Sea’ by Isobel Allende
Thu 23rd April 6pm – Cow’s Lane General – ‘Liar’ by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen

Wed 6th May 6pm – Dalkey First Wednesday – tbc
Thu 14th May 6pm – Dalkey Second Thursday – tbc
Thu 14th May 6pm – Cow’s Lane Classics – ‘The Post Office Girl’ by Stefan Zweig
Thu 21st May 6pm – Cow’s Lane Third Thursday – tbc
Tue 26th May 6pm – Dalkey Third Tuesday – tbc
Thu 28th May 11am – Cow’s Lane Get Active – tbc
Thu 28th May 6pm – Cow’s Lane General – tbc

Wed 3rd June 6pm – Dalkey First Wednesday – tbc
Thu 11th June 6pm – Dalkey Second Thursday – tbc
Thu 11th June 6pm – Cow’s Lane Classics – tbc
Thu 18th June 6pm – Cow’s Lane Third Thursday – tbc
Tue 23rd June 6pm – Dalkey Third Tuesday – tbc
Thu 25th June 11am – Cow’s Lane Get Active – tbc
Thu 25th June 6pm – Cow’s Lane General – tbc

If you’d like to join one of our bookclubs do sign-up for our monthly newsletter – that way you’ll be first to hear when places become available! It’s also well worth asking at your local library or other nearby community organisations as many are now running local bookclubs.


Our Stores

Cow’s Lane,
Temple Bar,
Dublin
+353 1 6799206
info@gutterbookshop.com

20 Railway Road,
Dalkey,
County Dublin
+353 1 2859633
dalkey@gutterbookshop.com